Nostalgia: Childhood Music

Image

I did one of these last year and I’ve been listening to so much music from early in my life, I decided to make another one. This is was all pivotal music for me before the age of 10 and defined my childhood.

Got My Mind Set On You – George Harrison (1987). I had the biggest thing for him growing up, until I got older and fell in love with John Lennon. This video in particular drew me when I was a child because of all the singing dead animals. I was completely obsessed with this song. It’s still one of my favorites.

You Can Call Me Al – Paul Simon (1986) Way before Community, Chevy Chase did this fantastic cameo. This song is still in my rotation on all my playlists. Never fell out of love with it, especially the trumpet part.

Don’t Worry Be Happy – Bobby McFerrin (1988) I have a memory of this song that’s just little snippets. I was three/four when this song got really big. I was at my aunt’s house with my dad and the two of them and my cousins were getting drunk and just playing music really loud. Every time I hear this song, my mind goes back to that place and the feeling of being in my aunt’s old house when they were younger and ridiculous while I played with my now grown cousin. It was a happy memory and sort of the place my mind goes to when I’m recalling good times from my childhood.

La Isla Bonita – Madonna (1986) This and “Like a Prayer” were my penultimate songs by Madonna before Evita, which I think played and sang obsessively for years after. There was something about the exotic melody of this song that drew me to it again and again.

Mickey – Tony Basil (1981) This song predates my existence but the very first dance class I took in elementary school, therefore my very first dance performance ever was to this song. It took me years and maturing to realize that she isn’t singing about Mickey Mouse, but it will always hold a special place with me, nonetheless. I had so much fun with it, that it made me stick with dance through out the rest of my school career.

Take Me Home Tonight – Eddie Money (1986) This one is cheating because it’s from my ex husband’s childhood, but I have memories of it from my own. When we got together, he was re-obsessed with this song and so it became our first song. I still call him up and sing it at him from time to time because it’s just fun and will forever not only be a piece of our childhood but our own past together.

Pour Some Sugar on Me – Def Leppard (1987) I grew up on this band as well and I loved a lot of their music, but I picked this song because as I got older and grew from child to teenager to woman, it held different meaning for me at every phase. It eventually became my stripper song and I can’t listen to it without needing a bucket of water poured on me while I pretend I’m an 80’s video vixen.

Rag Doll – Aerosmith (1987) See above.

Waterfalls – TLC (1994) When I was young I used to go to the YMCA during the summers because both my parents worked. We would go once a week to the public pool. My friends and I liked to ditch the pools and hang out gossiping and playing around in the showers instead and we’d sing this song over and over again. It was the song of summer 1994 for me and defines that whole year. Crazy, Sexy, Cool was also the first CD I ever owned.

The Sign – Ace of Base (1993) This was my band in elementary school. I used to stand outside on my great grandmother’s high rise apartment and pretend I was in the band giving concerts. I had a close friend of mine who got into them as well and we’d act out a whole concert to the entire album, doing stupid crazy stunts we shouldn’t have been doing in the process. I never really out grew them and did “Angel Eyes” for the talent show in high school. They’re still my guilty childhood pleasure.

Leave a Reply

